2018 New England First Amendment Awards

About NEFAC’s First Amendment Awards Luncheon

February 23, 2018
12:30 p.m. to 2 p.m.
Renaissance Boston Waterfront Hotel
606 Congress Street
Boston, Massachusetts

Program (Available Soon)

Award Nomination Materials (Deadline Jan. 15, 2018)

Michael Donoghue Freedom of Information Award

Antonia Orfield Citizenship Award

2018 Award Recipients

Jane Mayer, The New Yorker | Stephen Hamblett First Amendment Award

Jane Mayer, a writer for The New Yorker since 1995, covers politics, culture, and national security for the magazine. Mayer is perhaps best known for her accountability journalism and her ability to expose the underpinnings of powerful institutions. Her most recent book, “Dark Money,” is about the Koch brothers’ deep influence on conservative politics. Mayer previously worked at The Wall Street Journal, where she covered the bombing of the U.S. Marine barracks in Beirut, the Persian Gulf War, and the fall of the Berlin Wall. In 1984, she became the paper’s first female White House correspondent. A Yale University alumna, Mayer first worked as a journalist for two small weekly newspapers in Vermont, The Weathersfield Weekly and The Black River Tribune, before moving to the daily Rutland Herald. She speaks frequently about the value of investigative journalism — at news organizations of all sizes — and the need for a watchdog press. In addition to “Dark Money,” Mayer also wrote the 2008 best-seller “The Dark Side: The Inside Story of How the War on Terror Turned into a War on American Ideals,” which is based on her New Yorker articles and was named one of the top 10 works of journalism of the decade by N.Y.U.’s Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute. Her numerous honors include the John Chancellor Award; a Guggenheim Fellowship; the Goldsmith Book Prize; the Edward Weintal Prize; and a George Polk Award for magazine reporting in 2012.

TBA | Michael Donoghue Freedom of Information Award

TBA | Antonia Orfield Citizenship Award

News and Press Coverage

Deadline Approaching for NEFAC’s Annual Freedom of Information, Citizenship Awards | 1.11.18

Jane Mayer, Investigative Journalist for New Yorker, to Receive First Amendment Award | 11.27.17

NEFAC Accepting Nominations for Annual Antonia Orfield Citizenship Award; Deadline Jan. 15 | 11.14.17

NEFAC Seeking Nominations for Annual Michael Donoghue Freedom of Information Award | 11.9.17

Sponsors and Table Hosts

WBUR | The Boston Globe | Boston University | Tom Fiedler | Boston 25 News | Northeastern University | University of New Hampshire | WCVB | Roger Williams University | Prince Lobel Tye LLP

Patron Supporters and Other Contributors

New England Newspaper & Press Association